Headfort Golf Club Kells
Headfort Golf Club Kells
Headfort Golf Club Kells
Headfort Golf Club Kells
Posted on 11 Oct. 2017

McGrane & Casey Hook Top Prizes at Portmarnock Links

McGrane & Casey Hook Top Prizes at Portmarnock Links (Irish Golf Desk)

Damien McGrane might have had surgery to have a fish hook removed from his finger recently but it didn't stop him landing the top prize in the second TaylorMade sponsored Tuesday Winter Series outing of the season at Portmarnock Links.

The Kells professional, 46, started birdie, birdie, par (3-3-3) and dropped just one shot in a five-under-par 66 to win the nett prize by three shots from Elm Park five-handicapper Chris Cosgrave (69) and newly-minted professional Conor O'Rourke from Naas, who shot a level par 71.

Another Headfort professional, PGA Europro Tour regular Brian Casey, fired a three-under-par 68 to win the gross by two strokes from Castle's Boys international Robert Moran (70) and Dundalk international Caolan Rafferty (71), the leading qualifier in this year's (British) Amateur and North of Ireland championships.

The 97-strong entry came from as far afield as Cork, Kerry, the west and the north with a light, westerly breeze still proving a challenge.

They included Holywood's Tom McKibbin, one of Irish golf's promising young players, who  shot a one-over-par 72 on his debut with a bogey at the last costing him third place

Tuesday Winter Series, sponsored by TaylorMade, Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links (Par 71 / SSS 75 / CSS 75)


  1. Damien McGrane (Pro) 66
  2. Chris Cosgrave (5) Elm Park GC 69
  3. Conor O'Rourke (Pro) 71


  1. Brian Casey (Pro) 68
  2. Robert Moran (Castle GC) 70
  3. Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk) 71

« Back

Ranked No.6 Parkland
Backspin Magazine 2016

Ranked No.11 Parkland
Golf Digest 2014

Ranked No.2 in all Ireland
Kevin Markham - "Hooked"

Best Course in Leinster 2015
Golfers Guide to Ireland.

Members Login

GUI / LGUI number
Remember me

Lost your password?



Win a four ball simply by entering your details below.

First name*:
Last name*:

Congratulations to our March winner Mr. Kevin Leahy

Events Picture